Presidential Office appoints 102 advisors for next 15 months

Taipei-The Presidential Office on Tuesday released a list of 102 people who have been appointed to advise President Tsai Ing-wen (???) on national policy and other government matters.

Of the 102 appointees, 76 will serve as national policy advisors and 26 as senior advisors to the president from Feb. 9, 2021-May 19, 2022, drawing on their experience as former government officials and in the private sector, according to the release on the Presidential Office website.

The senior advisors, who hold a higher rank than national policy advisors, are usually former high ranking government officials, business magnates or highly respected civil leaders.

Six of the president’s new senior appointees have been moved up from the position of national policy advisors, while 14 have been retained from their previous tenure, and six are newcomers, according to the Presidential Office.

The newcomers include former head of the Control Yuan Chang Po-ya (???), musician Tseng Dau-hsiong (???) and New Kinpo Group Chairman Hsu Sheng-hsiung (???).

Former Premier Lin Chuan (??) and Taiwan independence activist Koo Kwang-ming (???) are among the 14 who have been retained.

Meanwhile, anthropologist Chan Chi-nan (???) and former Transportation Minister Ho Chen-tan (???) are two of the prominent names on the list of 32 newly selected national policy advisors, while 44 people have been reappointed.

In a statement, Presidential Office Spokesman Xavier Chang (???) said the office wished to thank those advisors who were not retained and to rally the new appointees to help advance the nation’s development.

Under the R.O.C. Office of the President Organization Act, the office can appoint up to 30 senior advisors and 90 national policy advisors, which are all unpaid positions.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel